Friday Favorite: Photos

Now that I’ve shared with you the basics of how a college radio station works, I want to tell you about one of my favorite parts of working at one— taking pictures.

Sometimes it’s hard to get creative shots of people performing in the studio because you’re shooting the same room over and over again, but I have come to enjoy the challenge.

I shoot with a trusty white Pentax K-x DSLR. (It’s been nicknamed the “stormtrooper camera” for obvious reasons.) It’s certainly not professional grade equipment by any means, but it has a lot of “artsy” filters and other features that make it neat for use around the station.

One of my favorite photography opportunities ever came last March during Iowa City’s Mission Creek Music Festival. KRUI did a remote broadcast from Public Space One, a DIY art and music space. For the entire week of the fest, KRUI hosted, recorded, and interviewed multiple artists each day.

The best part, however, was that the art in the gallery space became a perfect backdrop for some really unique and dramatic photos.

I really liked capturing the different parts of the performers that made them unique. From behind the lens, I was drawn into telling the story of performers’ tattoos, jewelry, messy hair, and stained shirts. They all seemed so indicative of a life spent on the road.

And, at the end of the week, I was thrilled to discover that one of my favorite acts, the New York City band Ravens & Chimes, had opted to use one of the photos I had taken of them on the main page of their website. One of my hobbies had turned into something nearly resumé worthy.

Ravens & Chimes

If you please, click here to visit the website of Ravens & Chimes.

So, that was my first “Friday Favorite”… I’m sure there will be many more to come. Stay tuned!

One response to “Friday Favorite: Photos

  1. Pingback: Dear Mom & Dad: | Campus Frequency

Leave a Reply

